Dholera Atlas

Home  /  Smart City

Semi-high-speed rail cleared

The Ahmedabad (Sarkhej) to Dholera semi-high-speed rail line was cleared by the CCEA, confirmed at the GREEN tier via PIB Release ID 2260624 dated 13 May 2026. This page reports the cost, length, and timeline that PIB states, and separates those from the speed and journey-time figures that appear only in press coverage.

Last checked 2026-08-11 · every figure below carries its source

01

What the CCEA cleared on 13 May 2026

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved the Ahmedabad to Dholera semi-high-speed rail project, and the Atlas records this as CONFIRMED at the GREEN tier via PIB Release ID 2260624 dated 13 May 2026. Running from Sarkhej in Ahmedabad to Dholera, the line is described as a roughly 134 km double-line corridor at an approximate cost of Rs 20,667 crore. It is described as India's first semi high-speed rail built with indigenous technology, and it is placed on the PM Gati Shakti framework for coordinated infrastructure planning. The route is designed to connect Ahmedabad, the Dholera Special Investment Region, the Dholera airport, and Lothal, tying the region's air, road, and rail access together. Completion is targeted for up to 2030 to 2031. Because the approval is documented by a PIB release, the existence and core parameters of the project rest on a primary government source, which is why the Atlas holds the cost, length, and timeline at GREEN. This is a formal Cabinet-level clearance of a defined project, not a proposal or a press rumour.

02

Separating PIB facts from press figures

The Atlas is careful to distinguish what the PIB release states from what only appears in press coverage, because the two carry different weight. The PIB release states the cost of about Rs 20,667 crore, the length of roughly 134 km double-line, the indigenous-technology framing, the Gati Shakti placement, the connections to Ahmedabad, Dholera SIR, the airport, and Lothal, and the completion timeline of up to 2030 to 2031. What the PIB release does not state is a speed. The widely quoted figure of 220 km per hour, and the associated journey time of roughly 45 to 48 minutes between Ahmedabad and Dholera, come from press reporting rather than from the PIB document. The Atlas therefore labels the speed and journey time as reported at the AMBER tier, while keeping the cost, length, and timeline at GREEN. This matters because a specific top speed is a headline-grabbing number that is easy to repeat as fact, and here the primary source simply does not confirm it. Readers should quote 220 km per hour and 45 to 48 minutes as press figures, not as officially stated parameters.

03

Why it matters, soberly

A Cabinet-cleared rail link is a significant addition to Dholera's connectivity because it commits a dedicated, fast passenger corridor between the region and Ahmedabad, and it explicitly stitches together the airport and the heritage site at Lothal along the way. Combined with the expressway and the airport, an approved rail line rounds out a genuine multi-modal access plan rather than a single road. The GREEN status on the core parameters means this is a firmer commitment than an MoU or an announcement of intent, since it carries Cabinet approval documented by PIB. Stated soberly, though, the significance today is approval and funding of a defined project, not a running train. The completion target of up to 2030 to 2031 places actual service several years out, and large rail builds commonly move in timing. The clearance materially advances the plan and locks in a cost and route, while the benefit to travellers arrives only when construction is finished. For a region whose case rests heavily on being reachable, a committed rail spine alongside the road and the airport is a stronger connectivity story than any single mode, and the Cabinet backing gives it more solidity than the many proposals that never leave the drawing board.

04

What it does not yet mean

The 13 May 2026 clearance does not mean the rail line is built or operating. It is a CCEA approval, which authorises and funds a defined project and sets it on the Gati Shakti framework, with completion targeted for up to 2030 to 2031. The cost of about Rs 20,667 crore is sanctioned project cost, not money spent, and the 134 km double-line is a planned corridor, not track in service. The 220 km per hour speed and the 45 to 48 minute journey time should not be presented as official, because the PIB release states cost, length, and timeline but not a speed. Those performance figures are press-reported and sit at AMBER. The honest summary is that India's first indigenous semi-high-speed rail between Ahmedabad and Dholera has been formally cleared and funded, connecting the SIR, the airport, and Lothal, with construction and service still years away and the headline speed unconfirmed by the primary source. The safe way to cite this event is to lead with the PIB-backed cost, length, and 2030 to 2031 timeline at GREEN, and to attach clear reported or AMBER labels to the 220 km per hour speed and the 45 to 48 minute journey time whenever they are mentioned.

Questions people ask

Was the Dholera semi-high-speed rail approved?
Yes. The CCEA cleared the Ahmedabad (Sarkhej) to Dholera semi-high-speed rail, confirmed at GREEN tier via PIB Release ID 2260624 dated 13 May 2026, at a cost of about Rs 20,667 crore for a roughly 134 km double-line.
How fast will the train go?
The often-quoted 220 km per hour and a 45 to 48 minute journey are press figures, not stated in the PIB release. The PIB confirms cost, length, and timeline, so the Atlas labels the speed as reported at AMBER.
What will the line connect?
It is designed to connect Ahmedabad, the Dholera Special Investment Region, the Dholera airport, and Lothal, and it sits on the PM Gati Shakti framework. It is described as India's first semi high-speed rail using indigenous technology.
When will it be finished?
Completion is targeted for up to 2030 to 2031. The 13 May 2026 clearance authorises and funds the project but is not the start of service.

Read next

How Dholera was plannedTown planning schemes explainedThe activation area explainedThe ABCD command and control centreThe ICCC explainedUnderground utility corridors